The COVID-19 pandemic forced Southern California into strict safety protocols. The pandemic has had a tremendous impact on all facets of life. Public transportation rates have decreased at a staggering rate since the pandemic began, and travelers are looking for safer alternatives.
E-Scooters have been making a comeback as COVID-19 restrictions ease, and you can drive a motorized scooter with any license. E-scooters can be an eco-friendly, socially distant way to commute to work. Motorized scooters are vehicles with two wheels, handlebars, a floorboard used for standing while riding, and a motor that powers the scooter.
If you intend to take an e-scooter out on the road in Southern California, you should be familiar with the following laws. Those who have suffered injuries in an e-scooter accident should consult with a proven scooter accident lawyer before accepting any settlement offer.
1. Under 18? Wear A helmet
California Vehicle Code §21235 requires all riders under 18 to use a bicycle helmet while on an E-scooter. The helmet needs to be fastened and fit correctly. Riding without a helmet is risky, but laws only dictate that minors have to wear a helmet.
Violating this Vehicle Code could lead to a ticket of $200. The majority of e-scooter tickets were issued for not wearing a helmet. Wearing a helmet reduces the risks of head injuries and could save you money if you’re below 18.
2. Know Where You Can Ride Your Scooter
California Vehicle Code §21229 requires E-scooters to be ridden in bicycle paths, bike lanes, or bikeways whenever possible. Bicycle lanes are typically on the street’s right edge and have a solid white line on each side with a bicycle symbol inside the white borders. Bike lanes are intended for one-way riding.
California Vehicle Code §21235 forbids riding an e-scooter on the sidewalk. You’re only permitted to ride an E-scooter on a sidewalk to park or transferring a parked scooter to the street. Violators will be penalized with a traffic ticket of $200.
3. You Need a Valid License to Ride an E-Scooter
California Vehicle Code §21235 allows people to ride an E-scooter with a valid learner’s permit or drivers’ license. You don’t need a specific permit for scooters. In Southern California, motorized scooters used for commuting are street-legal but do not need to have a license plate or be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
4. How to Make a Left Turn on an E-Scooter
California Vehicle Code (CVC) §21228 was intended to prevent scooter accidents. CVC §21228 forces E-scooters to turn left by stopping after the intersection on the right curb, dismounting, and crossing the roadway on foot.
5. E-Scooter Rider Must Follow The Same Traffic Rules As Car Drivers
CVC §21221 states that e-scooters have all the same rights and responsibilities as other motor vehicles. Driving an e-scooter under the influence of drugs or alcohol could lead to a DUI charge, a fine of $350, and license suspension.
In an E-Scooter Accident? Contact Steinberg Injury Lawyers Today
At Steinberg Injury Lawyers, we aggressively seek maximum compensation for scooter accident victims. Most cases settle out of court, but our team of scooter accident lawyers is experienced and ready to go to trial.
Contact us online or give us a call at 1-800-350-8888 to schedule your no-obligation, free consultation.
Post A Comment