California law only requires that each driver maintain liability insurance in the amount of $12,500. This is usually only enough to cover the smallest injury situation. The car accident lawyers in our office recommend that you carry a minimum of $100,000 in liability coverage. If you own property or have other assets that exceed $100,000 in value, you should seriously consider higher limits.
Many drivers are uninsured or underinsured. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, you will be totally dependent on your own insurer to pay your medical bills, repair or replace your vehicle, and compensate you for your pain suffering, lost wages, and disability.
California law also requires that your insurance agent offer you uninsured/underinsured limits equal to your liability limits. You should always take this coverage.
Uninsured/underinsured (sometimes called "U") coverage protects you, your family, members of your household and your passengers for personal injuries sustained as a result of the negligence of an uninsured or underinsured driver.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a car accident in Southern California, you need information. Contact the experienced Los Angeles car accident lawyers at 800.989.6385 or by filling out our online form.